0:00 / 0:00

The Songwriters

Episode Playlist
The Songwriters – 09-07-2024( 0:57:47)       
Episode Information
‘If Stax Records in Memphis represented the annals of Black Music at its roots core and Motown Records in Detroit represented what long-striving Black folks aspired to become, Philadelphia International Records staked its flag in Black people’s transcendental arrival’ – Philadelphia International’s website. Philadelphia International Records was a hotbed of innovation that produced 150 gold and platinum records during its peak years and this episode is all about the two men behind it and the sound they created. The Three Degrees - When Will I See You Again Harold Melvin & The Blue Notes - The Love I Lost Lou - Rawls - You’ll Never Find Another Love Like Mine The O’ Jays - Back Stabbers Harold Melvin & The Blue Notes - Don’t Leave Me This Way The O'Jays - Love Train Billy Paul - Am I Black Enough for You? Harold Melvin and The Bluenotes - If You Don't Know Me by Now The O’ Jays - Ship Ahoy Billy Paul - Me and Mrs. Jones The Jacksons - Enjoy Yourself MFSB - The Sound of Philadelphia
Published: 9/07/2024 8:45:00 a.m.